2014 - 2015: Last One Standing

Besides remixes for Substaat and Shelter feat. Andy Bell amongst others, Rich also worked as producer. Along with a remix he also produced three more songs for an EP for Sinestar (one of the support acts of the Automation Baby tour) who also are from Bristol.

In May 2014 mesh performed together with Camouflage and De/Vision in Kiev. During the rest of the year they were playing on various festivals: At BAS-Festival in Basildon (UK), the Amphi Festival at Tanzbrunnen in Cologne and at Pluswelt Festival at Kulturfabrik in Krefeld.

In September, they began writing for a new album. The first three songs which were written by the end of the year were Tactile, Last One Standing and The Fixer.

In the first half of 2015, Mark and Rich diligently wrote further songs. During this time, they only performed in London and at the Blackfield Festival in Gelsenkirchen. Early August, Olaf Wollschläger, with whom they had already worked successfully on A Perfect Solution and Automation Baby, stopped by Bristol for a few days and listened to the material recorded up until this date. They were talking about the musical direction of the new album and started with the first additional programming of the already finished songs.

In October, mesh visited the continent for a few concerts. In addition to the Dark Electro Festival in Warsaw, they also played a few shows in Germany. With Last One Standing Mark and Rich surprised their audience with a new song.

The highlight was undoubtedly the Gothic Meets Klassik Festival at the Leipzig Gewandhaus though, along with other artists Anne Clark and Covenant. mesh, accompanied by a 42-piece orchestra, played five songs in a sold out house and received standing ovation by the audience. The performance was recorded for a later CD release.

In late November, the band traveled to Barcelona to play on the Ultranight Pop Festival. De/Vision and OBK were also on the line-up. The rest of the year was spent with songwriting in their home studio.

back to overview

2014 - 2015: Last One Standing

Neben Remixen für u.a. Substaat und Shelter feat. Andy Bell betätigte sich Rich auch als Produzent. Für eine EP der ebenfalls aus Bristol stammenden Sinestar (einer der Support-Acts der Automation Baby Tour) fertigte Rich einen Remix an und produzierte drei weitere Songs.

Im Mai 2014 traten mesh zusammen mit Camouflage und De/Vision in Kiew auf. Den Rest des Jahres waren sie auf diversen Festivals zugegen, u.a. auf dem BAS-Festival in Basildon (UK), dem Amphi Festival im Kölner Tanzbrunnen und dem Pluswelt Festival in der Krefelder Kulturfabrik.

Im September begann das Songwriting für ein neues Album. Die ersten drei Songs, die bis zum Jahresende geschrieben wurden, waren Tactile, Last One Standing und The Fixer.

In der ersten Jahreshälfte 2015 schrieben Mark und Rich weiter fleißig an neuen Songs. In dieser Zeit traten sie lediglich in London und auf dem Blackfield Festival in Gelsenkirchen auf. Anfang August kam Olaf Wollschläger, mit dem man bereits erfolgreich auf A Perfect Solution und Automation Baby gearbeitet hatte, für ein paar Tage nach Bristol und hörte sich das bisher aufgenommene Material an. Man sprach über die musikalische Ausrichtung des neuen Albums und begann mit ersten zusätzlichen Programmings der bereits fertigen Songs.

Im Oktober kamen mesh für ein paar Konzerte auf den Kontinent. Neben dem Dark Electro Festival in Warschau spielte man auch ein paar Shows in Deutschland. Mit Last One Standing hatten Mark und Rich bereits einen neuen Song im Gepäck.

Das Highlight aber war ohne Zweifel das Gothic Meets Klassik Festival im Leipziger Gewandhaus, das man zusammen mit Anne Clark und Covenant bestritt. Vor ausverkauftem Haus spielten mesh – von einem 42–köpfigen Orchester begleitet – fünf Songs und erhielten vom Publikum stehende Ovationen. Der Auftritt wurde für eine spätere CD-Veröffentlichung aufgenommen.

Ende November reiste die Band für das Ultranight Pop Festival nach Barcelona. Dort spielte man u.a. neben De/Vision und OBK. Den Rest des Jahres verbrachte man mit Songwriting im heimischen Studio.

zurück zur Übersicht