2012 - 2013: Automation Baby

The first half of the year, Mark and Rich mostly spent time with writing songs for the next album.

mesh were appearing live for the first time that year during the Whitsun weekend. After a trial show with a new keyboardist in the Kantine Augsburg, a performance as headliner at WGT in Leipzig followed the day after. On keyboards a new man called Richard Broadhead appeared. Geoff Pinckney left the band because he wanted to fully concentrate on his own project tenek.

Two more festivals followed in July and September: The Nordstern Festival in Hamburg and the Electronic Summer Festival in Gothenburg. They didn't play any new songs though.

As Mark and Rich were very happy with the recordings for the last album A Perfect Solution, they decided to work with Olaf Wollschläger again. So they travelled to Germany in October for nine days to mix the new album and to re-record a few vocals in Kerpen. Rich was quite sure that Born To Lie had to be the first single. The new B-side song Black Dog was written at that time. In November 2012, the work on the album Automation Baby has been finished.

Also in November mesh performed in England at the Whitby Gothic Weekend. On 22 December 2012, they were headlining the Pluswelt Festival at Kulturfabrik in Krefeld. Here they presented two new songs for the first time: the forthcoming single Born To Lie and Taken For Granted. In addition, they surprised their fans when Mark performed the very last song Can You Mend Hearts? in an acoustic version on a second stage in the middle of the room.

On 18 January 2013 the single Born To Lie was released. It reached number 1 on the DAC (German Alternative Charts) and the GEWC (German Electronic Web Charts). At the top of the EAC (European Alternative Charts) it could hold itself for even six weeks.

In early February work on the bonus CD for the Automation Baby album was completed. Originally there were plans to publish the song Automation Baby as second single. After deciding against it the mixes were also put on this bonus CD.

As of 15 March 2013, Automation Baby hit the shelves of the stores as standard CD as well as limited edition incl. the bonus CD. The album reached number 33 of the Media Control Charts and became the most successful mesh album to date. In the GEWC (German Electronic Web Charts) Automation Baby reached number 1.

The Automation Baby tour brought mesh to Germany, Poland, England, Sweden, Austria and France. In summer Mark and Rich were again appearing on the main stage of M'Era Luna Festival. For the second part of the Automation Baby tour the band travelled to Spain and Russia.

In October Walk Of Shame was written as a B-Side for the second single Adjust Your Set. The second single of the top 40 album saw the light of day on 8 November and was number one of the DAC (Deutsche Alternative Charts) for several weeks. Following this release mesh returned to Germany again for a few concerts.

back to overview

2012 - 2013: Automation Baby

Die erste Jahreshälfte verbrachten Mark und Rich überwiegend damit, Songs für das nächste Album zu schreiben.

Live konnte man mesh in 2012 zum ersten Mal am Pfingstwochenende bestaunen. Einer Probeshow mit neuem Keyboarder in der Augsburger Kantine folgte tags darauf ein Auftritt als Headliner beim WGT. An den Keyboards stand dabei mit Lord Richard Broadhead ein neuer Mann. Geoff Pinckney war als Live-Musiker ausgestiegen, da er sich intensiver um sein eigenes Projekt tenek kümmern wollte.

Zwei weitere Festivals folgten im Juli und September: Das Nordstern Festival in Hamburg und das Electronic Summer Festival in Göteborg. Neue Songs gab es bis dahin aber noch nicht zu hören.

Da Mark und Rich mit A Perfect Solution sehr glücklich waren, entschieden sie sich, erneut mit Olaf Wollschläger zusammen zu arbeiten. So reisten sie im Oktober für 9 Tage nach Deutschland, um in Kerpen das neue Album abzumischen und ein paar Vocals neu aufzunehmen. Rich war sich ziemlich sicher, dass Born To Lie die erste Single sein müsste. Als B-Seite entstand noch während der Zeit in Kerpen der Song Black Dog. Im November 2012 waren die Arbeiten am Album Automation Baby beendet.

Im gleichen Monat traten mesh in England auf dem Whitby Gothic Weekend auf. Am 22. Dezember 2012 spielten sie als Headliner auf dem Pluswelt Festival in der Krefelder Kulturfabrik. Hier präsentierten sie erstmalig zwei neue Songs: Die kommende Single Born To Lie und Taken For Granted. Zudem überraschten sie ihre Fans, in dem Mark als allerletzten Song eine Akustik-Version von Can You Mend Hearts? auf einer zweiten Bühne mitten im Raum präsentierte.

Am 18. Januar 2013 wurde die Single Born To Lie veröffentlicht. Sie erreichte Platz 1 der DAC (Deutsche Alternative Charts) und der GEWC (German Electronic Web Charts). An der Spitze der EAC (European Alternative Charts) konnte sie sich sogar sechs Wochen lang behaupten.

Anfang Februar waren die Arbeiten an der Bonus CD für das Album Automation Baby abgeschlossen. Ursprünglich gab es Pläne, den Song Automation Baby als zweite Single zu veröffentlichen. Nachdem man sich dagegen entschieden hatte, landeten die dafür angefertigten Mixe ebenfalls auf dieser Bonus CD.

Ab dem 15. März 2013 stand Automation Baby als Standard CD sowie Ltd. Edition inkl. Bonus CD im Handel. Das Album stieg auf Platz 33 der Media Control Charts ein und wurde damit das bis dahin erfolgreichste mesh Album. In den GEWC (German Electronic Web Charts) erreichte Automation Baby Platz 1.

Die anschließende Tour führte mesh durch Deutschland, Polen, England, Schweden, Österreich und Frankreich. Im Sommer standen Mark und Rich erneut auf der Hauptbühne des M’Era Luna Festivals. Für den zweiten Teil der Automation Baby Tour reiste die Band nach Spanien und Russland.

Im Oktober wurde Walk Of Shame als B-Seite für die zweite Single Adjust Your Set geschrieben. Die zweite Single des Top 40-Albums erblickte am 8. November das Licht der Welt und stand mehrere Wochen auf Platz 1 der DAC (Deutsche Alternative Charts). Im Anschluss an diese Veröffentlichung kamen mesh noch einmal für einige Konzerte nach Deutschland.

zurück zur Übersicht