2010 - 2011: How Long? Legends of Synth Pop present An Alternative Solution

At the turn of the year, the official fan club website launched the Spanish section as its third language.

The vinyl single from the limited box set of A Perfect Solution resulted in a large numbers of complaints, as many fans had no record player. As a result, Hold And Restrain was also released as a downloadable single on 15 January 2010.

In February 2010, the second part of the A Perfect Solution tour brought the band to Spain and Russia.

With How Long? the second single from A Perfect Solution was released. Besides containing the usual remixes of the title track mesh specifically recorded an alternative version of Hold And Restrain and also wrote a completely new song as B-side, Save Everyone. How Long? made it to the top of the German Alternative Charts.

In August Mark was asked by Legacy Of Music if he would sing one of their songs. Mark liked the music, but wrote new lyrics which were based on the original theme of the song and recorded the vocals in his studio. The result was the track called Tragedy and was published on the CD [co]operation of Legacy Of Music, on 20 October.

For live shows mesh were part of the Amphi Festival in Gelsenkirchen in July 2010, at the Elektrostat Festival in Oslo in October and as headliner at the Pluswelt Festival in Berlin and Krefeld.

In October 2010, Rich worked on a new remix of From This Height based on the popular live version from the We Collide Tour, for a new EP. Mark got a CD of Vic Anselmo from a fan at the Amphi Festival. He was so impressed by her voice that mesh asked whether she was interested in a duet. You'll Never Understand was written. The recording process was similar to that of Who Says?, completely via the internet. Where Is The Sun? completed the track-listing of the From This Height EP.

On 31 March 2011, a three and a half week tour in the U.S. and Canada started. The North American fans had been waiting for a long time, but now they were offered a line-up with mesh, Iris and De/Vision that was second to none. The tour was titled Legends of Synth Pop and the bands alternated the running order. As far as merchandise, mesh not only had new T-shirts with them, but also a limited USB-stick incl. the From This Height EP, demo versions of older tracks and ringtones.

On 20 May 2011, the remix album An Alternative Solution was released including the songs of A Perfect Solution in new interpretations. It was Rich's idea. mesh asked artist friends who could pick and choose which song they wanted to remix. Gradually, the choice was of course, narrowed because the aim was to have for one remix for each song on the album.

In summer, mesh performed at the DV8 Festival in York, England, as headliner, gave a concert in Frankfurt and played at the M'Era Luna Festival.

After that things calmed down for the band because in October the songwriting for the new album started with This Is The Time.

back to overview

2010 - 2011: How Long? Synth-Pop Legenden präsentieren eine alternative Lösung

Zum Jahreswechsel startete die offizielle Fanclub Website mit Spanisch als dritter Sprache.

Die Vinylsingle aus dem limitierten Boxset von A Perfect Solution führte zu einer Vielzahl an Beschwerden, weil viele Fans keinen Plattenspieler besaßen. Aufgrund dessen wurde Hold And Restrain am 15. Januar 2010 zusätzlich als Download-Single veröffentlicht.

Im Februar 2010 führte der zweite Teil der A Perfect Solution Tour die Band nach Spanien und Russland.

Mit How Long? erschien am 26. März 2010 die zweite Single aus A Perfect Solution. Neben den üblichen Remixen des Titeltracks hatten mesh speziell für die Single auch eine alternative Version von Hold And Restrain aufgenommen sowie mit Save Everyone einen komplett neuen Song als B-Seite geschrieben. How Long? schaffte es bis an die Spitze der Deutschen Alternative Charts.

Im August wurde Mark von Legacy Of Music gefragt, ob er einen ihrer Songs singen würde. Mark mochte die Musik, schrieb aber neue Lyrics, die auf dem originalen Thema des Songs basierten und nahm die Vocals in seinem Studio auf. Das Ergebnis hörte auf den Namen Tragedy und wurde am 20. Oktober auf der CD [co]operation von Legacy Of Music veröffentlicht.

Live waren mesh in 2010 noch im Juli auf dem Amphi Festival in Gelsenkirchen und im Oktober auf dem Elektrostat Festival in Oslo sowie als Headliner auf dem Pluswelt Festival in Berlin und Krefeld zu sehen.

Für eine neue EP arbeitete Rich ab Oktober 2010 an einem Remix von From This Height auf Basis der beliebten Liveversion der We Collide Tour. Mark hatte auf dem Amphi Festival von einem Fan die CD von Vic Anselmo erhalten. Er war von ihrer Stimme so begeistert, dass mesh anfragten, ob sie an einem Duett interessiert sei. You’ll Never Understand entstand. Die Arbeiten liefen wie schon bei Who Says? auch diesmal komplett über das Internet. Where Is The Sun? komplettierte das Tracklisting der From This Height EP.

Am 31. März 2011 startete eine dreieinhalb wöchige Tour durch die USA und Kanada. Lange hatten die nordamerikanischen Fans warten müssen, und nun bekamen sie mit mesh, Iris und De/Vision ein Line-Up geboten, das seinesgleichen sucht. Die Tour lief unter dem Titel Legends of Synth Pop und die Bands wechselten sich mit der Headlinerposition ab. mesh hatten als Merchandise nicht nur neue T-Shirts im Gepäck, sondern auch einen limitierten USB-Stick, der neben der From This Height EP auch noch Demoversionen älterer Songs und Klingeltöne enthielt.

Mit An Alternative Solution folgte am 20. Mai 2011 ein Remix-Album, das die Songs von A Perfect Solution in neuem Gewand zeigte. Die Idee dazu stammte von Rich. mesh fragten befreundete Künstler, die sich aussuchen konnten, welchen Song sie remixen wollten. Nach und nach wurde die Auswahl natürlich kleiner, weil das Ziel war, für jeden Song des Albums einen Remix zu erhalten.

Im Sommer traten mesh auf dem DV8 Festival im englischen York als Headliner auf, gaben ein Konzert in Frankfurt und waren auf dem M’Era Luna Festival zu sehen.

Danach wurde es ruhig um die Band, denn ab Oktober startete mit This Is The Time das Songwriting für ein neues Album.

zurück zur Übersicht