2009: A Perfect Solution

Right at the beginning of the year, Mark and Rich went on a search for a new record company. With the help of their manager Hayo Lewerentz who they met on the elektrisch! Festival tour they got in touch with Stefan Herwig, the label boss of Dependent. After several meetings mesh decided to sign with Dependent. The contract provided that new CDs in Europe will be released by Dependent, in North America by the cooperation partner Metropolis.

In the first half of the year, mesh wrote and produced more songs for the upcoming album. For the first time, they decided to cooperate with a guest singer. In May 2009, Rich asked Julia Beyer (Technoir, Chandeen) to perform a duet for the song Who Says?. Julia, who is a big mesh fan herself, accepted immediately. She recorded her vocals in the studio of Krischan Wesenberg (Rotersand). Hopes.Dreams was the last song written for the album. In June 2009, the songwriting and pre-production for A Perfect Solution was completed.

Parallel to the studio work mesh played until summer at several festivals in Holland, England, Poland and Germany, including in Krefeld as headliner at the Pluswelt Festival, in London as double headliner along with Covenant and in Gelsenkirchen at the Blackfield Festival. In addition, they had a second new song to play with If We Stay Here.

Stefan Herwig suggested getting involved with Olaf Wollschläger (Melotron, In Strict Confidence) for the mixing of the new album. After he had already mixed a radio version of Only Better in which the band liked the result, the suggestion was accepted. In August, Rich flew to Germany for one week to mix the album with Olaf Wollschläger at his studio in Kerpen.

On 4 September 2009, the single Only Better was released in Germany. The maxi CD not only included the remixes of the title track but also a remix of Everything I Made and the B-side Shattered Glass which is unusually harsh. This time Mark and Rich hadn't explicitly written a song as a B-side, but they chose one of the songs already written for the album. Only Better reached number 84 of the Media Control Charts.

A Perfect Solution was available in Germany on 23 October 2009. In addition to the regular CD, the album was also released in a box limited to 4,000 copies including a 48-page book, a poster and a 7" vinyl single. The latter contained the exclusive song Hold And Restrain. A Perfect Solution debuted at number 89 on the Media Control Charts.

On 12 November the three-week A Perfect Solution tour began with concerts in Germany, Denmark, Austria, Switzerland, Belgium and England. Support bands were Informatik from San Francisco and Janosch Moldau from Neu-Ulm. For the tour, Mark had developed a new video system. Instead of on a big screen behind the stage, the tour videos were shown split on four 50"-plasma-displays which were placed beside and behind the stage.
As a special extra, a photo of each concertgoer was taken at the entrance. While the support bands were on stage, Mark added these photos to the tour projection of Friends Like These backstage. So in the final song of all concerts, everyone of the audience was seen virtually on stage.

back to overview

2009: A Perfect Solution

Gleich zu Beginn des Jahres begaben sich Mark und Rich auf die Suche nach einer neuen Plattenfirma. Über ihren Manager Hayo Lewerentz, den sie auf der elektrisch! Festival Tour kennengelernt hatten, kam der Kontakt zu Stefan Herwig, dem Labelchef von Dependent, zustande. Nach mehreren Meetings entschieden sich mesh, bei Dependent zu unterschreiben. Der Vertrag sah vor, dass neue CDs in Europa von Dependent veröffentlicht werden, in Nordamerika vom Kooperationspartner Metropolis.

In der ersten Jahreshälfte schrieben und produzierten mesh weitere Songs für das kommende Album. Erstmalig entschied man sich, mit einem Gastsänger zusammen zu arbeiten. Im Mai 2009 fragte Rich bei Julia Beyer (Technoir, Chandeen) wegen einem Duett für den Song Who Says? an. Julia, selbst großer mesh Fan, sagte sofort zu. Ihre Gesangsparts nahm sie im Studio von Krischan Wesenberg (Rotersand) auf. Hopes.Dreams war der letzte Song, der für das Album geschrieben wurde. Im Juni 2009 war das Songwriting und die Vorproduktion für A Perfect Solution abgeschlossen.

Parallel zur Studioarbeit spielten mesh bis zum Sommer auf einigen Festivals in Holland, England, Polen und Deutschland, u.a. in Krefeld als Headliner beim Pluswelt Festival, in London als Doppel-Headliner zusammen mit Covenant und in Gelsenkirchen auf dem Blackfield Festival. Teilweise hatten sie dabei mit If We Stay Here einen zweiten neuen Song im Gepäck.

Stefan Herwig schlug vor, für das Abmischen des neuen Albums Olaf Wollschläger (Melotron, In Strict Confidence) zu engagieren. Nachdem dieser eine Radioversion für Only Better gemixt hatte und das Ergebnis der Band gefiel, nahm man den Vorschlag an. Im August flog Rich für eine Woche nach Deutschland, um das Album mit Olaf Wollschläger in dessen Studio in Kerpen abzumischen.

Am 4. September 2009 wurde die Single Only Better in Deutschland veröffentlicht. Neben Remixen des Titeltracks enthielt die Maxi-CD auch einen Remix von Everything I Made und mit Shattered Glass eine ungewohnt harte B-Seite. Dieses Mal hatten Mark und Rich nicht explizit einen Song als B-Seite geschrieben, sondern sie suchten sich von allen für das Album geschriebenen Songs einen aus. Only Better erreichte Platz 84 der Media Control Charts.

A Perfect Solution war in Deutschland ab dem 23. Oktober 2009 im Handel erhältlich. Neben der regulären CD erschien das Album auch in einer auf 4.000 Einheiten limitierten Box, die neben einem 48-seitigen Buch noch ein Poster und eine 7"-Vinylsingle enthielt. Auf dieser Single war mit Hold And Restrain ein exklusiver Song enthalten. A Perfect Solution schaffte es in den Media Control Charts auf Platz 89.

Am 12. November startete die dreiwöchige A Perfect Solution Tour mit Konzerten in Deutschland, Dänemark, Österreich, der Schweiz, Belgien und England. Als Support waren Informatik aus San Francisco und der Neu-Ulmer Janosch Moldau mit dabei. Für die Tour hatte Mark ein völlig neues Videosystem entwickelt. Anstatt auf einer großen Leinwand hinter der Bühne liefen die Tourvideos aufwändig gesplittet auf vier 50"-Plasma-Displays, die neben und hinter der Bühne angebracht waren.
Als besonderes Extra wurde beim Einlass von jedem Konzertbesucher ein Foto aufgenommen. Während die Supportbands auf der Bühne standen, fügte Mark im Backstagebereich diese Fotos in die Tourprojektion zu Friends Like These ein. So war beim finalen Song der Konzerte jeder Anwesende einmal virtuell auf der Bühne zu sehen.

zurück zur Übersicht