2007 - 2008: The World's A Big Place

In the spring of 2006, a new compilation series started with elektrisch!. The release of the second part was planned for February 2007 and this time they came up with something very special for the promotion: A German-wide festival tour with four bands who would all be represented on elektrisch! 2. In the end, the line-up consisted of Mechanical Cabaret, Purwien, X-Perience and mesh as headliners.

After three live shows in Amsterdam, Barcelona and Madrid, which ran under the title We Collide Tour Part III, the one-week-long elektrisch! festival tour started on 22 January 2007 in Stuttgart. The severe onset of winter in Germany did unfortunately lead to the cancellation of two dates.

The last mesh concert as part of the elektrisch! festival tour took place on 27 January 2007 in the Kulturfabrik Krefeld. With the goal of doing a live DVD, the complete mesh gig was filmed by the team from Crazy Clip Show and directed by Patrick Bernhardt utilizing 6 cameras. Only Not Prepared was excluded from the final product as this song didn't get permission from the former record company Synthetic Product Records to appear. For the close-ups for the DVD mesh had already played the complete set during the "soundcheck" in the afternoon.

The next few months, mesh were busy working on mixing the sound for the live DVD. It was only in July 2007, that they retook the stage for the Dark Omen Festival in Paris and the Amphi Festival in Cologne. As drummer Gary Howe wasn't available, Sean Suleman filled in for him. Due to Gary Howe's health problems which would have heavily handicapped him during the tour, the instrumentation stuck to it from then.

On 23 November 2007 mesh started a mini tour through England. On the same day, their first live DVD The Word's A Big Place (We Collide Tour) was released by Major Records. They licensed the DVD from Königskinder Schallplatten GmbH, because this company no longer acted.
With this release the contract with Königskinder Schallplatten GmbH expired. Mark and Rich decided to first write a new album at rest and then to deal with a new record company.

In 2008, the fans haven't heard much from them. Mark and Rich worked on new songs for the upcoming album in their studio. The first songs were Only Better and Is It So Hard?. They played two live concerts in Russia in April. Then they played several festivals, once more as headliners at the WGT in Leipzig, on the main stage of the M'Era Luna and in the Dutch city of Utrecht at the Summer Darkness Festival. On 9 October 2008, mesh performed at the Advanced Electronics Festival as part of the Popkomm in Berlin and presented a first teaser for the next album with Everything I Made.

back to overview

2007 - 2008: The World's A Big Place

Im Frühjahr 2006 startete mit elektrisch! eine neue Sampler-Reihe. Die Veröffentlichung des zweiten Teils stand für Februar 2007 an und diesmal hatte man sich für die Promotion etwas ganz Besonderes ausgedacht: Eine deutschlandweite Festival-Tour mit vier Bands, die alle auf elektrisch! 2 vertreten sein würden. Das Line-Up setzte sich letztlich aus Mechanical Cabaret, Purwien, X-Perience und mesh als Headliner zusammen.

Nach drei Live-Shows in Amsterdam, Barcelona und Madrid, die unter dem Titel We Collide Tour Part III liefen, startete am 22. Januar 2007 in Stuttgart die einwöchige elektrisch! Festival Tour. Der starke Wintereinbruch in Deutschland führte leider zum Ausfall von zwei Terminen.

Das letzte mesh Konzert im Rahmen der elektrisch! Festival Tour fand am 27. Januar 2007 in der Kulturfabrik Krefeld statt. Mit dem Ziel, eine Live DVD zu erstellen, wurde der komplette mesh Gig vom Team der Crazy Clip Show um Patrick Bernhardt mit sechs Kameras gefilmt. Lediglich Not Prepared fand den Weg nicht auf das Endprodukt, da dieser Song von der früheren Plattenfirma Synthetic Product Records keine Freigabe erhalten hatte. Für die Nahaufnahmen zur DVD hatten mesh bereits am Nachmittag zum "Soundcheck" das komplette Set gespielt.

Die nächsten Monate waren mesh damit beschäftigt, den Sound für die Live DVD zu bearbeiten und abzumischen. Erst im Juli 2007 kehrte man für das Dark Omen Festival in Paris und das Amphi Festival in Köln auf die Bühne zurück. Da Drummer Gary Howe an diesen Terminen keine Zeit hatte, sprang Sean Suleman für ihn ein. Aufgrund von gesundheitlichen Problemen von Gary Howe, die für ihn das Touren erschwerten, blieb es von nun an bei dieser Besetzung.

Am 23.11.2007 startete eine Mini-Tour durch England. Am gleichen Tag erschien mit The World’s A Big Place (We Collide Tour) die erste Live DVD von mesh bei Major Records. Diese hatten die DVD von der Königskinder Schallplatten GmbH lizenziert, da diese Firma nicht länger agierte.
Mit diesem Release lief auch der Plattenvertrag mit der Königskinder Schallplatten GmbH aus. Mark und Rich entschieden sich dafür, erst einmal in Ruhe ein neues Album zu schreiben und sich danach um eine neue Plattenfirma zu kümmern.

In 2008 war es sehr ruhig um die Band. Mark und Rich werkelten im Studio an neuen Songs für das kommende Album. Die ersten Songs dafür waren Only Better und Is It So Hard?. Live spielte man im April zwei Konzerte in Russland. Danach gab es mehrere Festivalauftritte, u.a. erneut als Headliner beim WGT in Leipzig, auf der Hauptbühne des M’Era Luna und im niederländischen Utrecht auf dem Summer Darkness Festival. Am 09. Oktober 2008 traten mesh auf dem Advanced Electronics Festival im Rahmen der Popkomm in Berlin auf. Hier präsentierten sie mit Everything I Made den ersten Vorgeschmack auf das neue Album.

zurück zur Übersicht