2006: We Collide

Almost exactly three years after the last album, the new single Crash was finally released on 24 February 2006. mesh left the decision as to which song should be the first single to their record company. The video for the single was shot in December 2005 by Mark Feuerstake in Dusseldorf. The band had already worked with him with the video of Not Prepared. It was filmed in Brighton UK at that time. The clip received plays at various channels and a SAT.1 music special.

Besides Soul the single contained a second B-side with Into This World. Originally Into This World was planned as an album track, but as the song was not as good as the band desired, they decided to use it as an additional B-side. Crash made it to number 88 in the Media Control Charts, almost without any radio plays and TV appearances.

On 15 March, the official mesh fan club went online. Initially, the website was planned only in German, but a few days after the launch, inquiries reached them from fans around the world, so it started to offer the content in English.

The long-awaited album We Collide was in the German stores on 31 March 2006. Because of the new distribution (SPV) the album also appeared in other European countries, including Scandinavia (Memento Materia) and even with an exclusive bonus track in Greece (Undo Records). The last mesh album contained short instrumental pieces between some songs. This time, Mark, Rich and Neil deliberately decided against this "trademark" and produced a rather more conventional album. The complete artwork was once more done by Neil. We Collide debuted at number 90 of the German Media Control Charts.

The kickstart of the We Collide tour was in Leipzig on 21 April. The night before, the band had rehearsed the complete set again at the venue Werk II. The most striking innovation was the use of a live drummer. Gary Howe supported the band by playing the drums in addition to the programmed drums, which made the sound even cooler. Rich also left his place behind the keyboard for a couple of songs and played the guitar.
The We Collide tour went through Germany, Austria, Switzerland and Poland. Some performances as headliners at the Elfin Dance Festival in Athens and the WGT in Leipzig followed. After a few gigs at home in England, they played once more on the Arvika Festival in Sweden and made it onto the main stage of M'Era Luna for the very first time.

Rarely there has been a CD that could produce so many potential singles like We Collide. Therefore, the record company decided to lift two songs for the next single. So on 4 August a double-A-single followed with My Hands Are Tied / Petrified. However, they didn't want to do without a b-side. Mark had recorded a cover version of Assemblage 23 song Document some time ago. For the new single, the original version was again revised and adapted to the sound of We Collide. My Hands Are Tied / Petrified got air play at the Delta Radio, HR3, PSR and Radio Saek amongst others. At Radio Schleswig-Holstein (RSH) the single even managed to get into power rotation. It reached number 95 in the Media Control Charts and climbed up to number 2 in the German Alternative Charts (DAC).

Then in September a big shock for all mesh fans followed: Neil Taylor announced he was leaving the band after fifteen years! The performance at the M'Era Luna should have been his last, and he wanted once again to spend more time with his family. But Rich and Mark were also shocked, as they had already written the first demo tracks for a new album and confirmed another small tour for the coming winter.

With Geoff Pinckney (The Nine / Alien6) mesh finally found a new live keyboard player. After two shows in Russia, on the Synthetic Snow Festival in Moscow amongst others, they returned to Germany in December for five more concerts.

back to overview

2006: We Collide

Fast genau 3 Jahre nach dem letzten Release erschien am 24. Februar 2006 endlich die neue Single Crash. Die Entscheidung, welcher Song die Vorab-Single wird, überließen mesh der Plattenfirma. Der Videoclip zur Single wurde im Dezember 2005 von Mark Feuerstake in Düsseldorf gedreht. Die Band hatte mit ihm bereits bei dem Videoclip zu Not Prepared zusammen gearbeitet. Damals wurde in Brighton UK gefilmt. Der Clip erhielt Plays in diversen Kanälen und einem SAT.1-Music-Special.

Neben Soul erhielt die Single mit Into This World eine zweite B-Seite. Ursprünglich war Into This World als Album-Track geplant, aber da der Song nicht so gelang, wie die Band sich das gewünscht hatte, entschied man sich, ihn als zusätzliche B-Seite zu verwenden. Crash schaffte es auf Platz 88 in den Media Control Charts, und das nahezu ohne Radio- und TV-Einsätze.

Am 15. März ging der offizielle mesh Fanclub online. Anfangs war die Webseite nur in Deutsch geplant, aber schon wenige Tage nach dem Start kamen Anfragen von Fans aus aller Welt, und so wurde damit begonnen, die Inhalte auch in Englisch anzubieten.

Das lang erwartete Album We Collide stand am 31. März 2006 in Deutschland in den Läden. Durch den neuen Vertrieb (SPV) erschien das Album auch in anderen europäischen Ländern, u.a. in Skandinavien (Memento Materia) und – sogar mit exklusivem Bonustrack – in Griechenland (Undo Records). Waren auf den vorangegangenen mesh Alben zwischen manchen Songs kleine instrumentale Stücke enthalten, so hatten sich Mark, Rich und Neil diesmal bewusst gegen dieses "Markenzeichen" entschieden und ein eher herkömmliches Album produziert. Das komplette Artwork stammte wieder einmal von Neil. We Collide stieg auf Platz 90 der Media Control Charts ein.

Der Auftakt zur We Collide Tour war am 21. April in Leipzig. Am Abend zuvor hatte die Band im Werk II nochmal das komplette Set geprobt. Die auffälligste Neuerung war der Einsatz eines Live-Drummers. Gary Howe unterstützte die Band, indem er zusätzlich zu den programmierten Drums am Schlagzeug spielte, was den Sound noch fetter machte. Außerdem verließ Rich bei einigen Songs den Platz hinter den Keyboards und griff zur Gitarre.
Die We Collide Tour führte durch Deutschland, Österreich, die Schweiz und Polen. Es folgten Headliner Auftritte beim Elfentanz Festival in Athen und dem WGT in Leipzig. Nach ein paar Auftritten im heimischen England spielte man einmal mehr auf dem Arvika Festival in Schweden und schaffte es beim M’Era Luna zum ersten Mal auf die Hauptbühne.

Selten gab es eine CD, die so viele potentielle Singles vorweisen konnte, wie We Collide. Deshalb entschied die Plattenfirma, für die nächste Single gleich zwei Songs auszukoppeln. Und so folgte am 4. August mit My Hands Are Tied / Petrified eine Doppel-A-Single. Trotzdem verzichtete man nicht auf eine B-Seite. Mark hatte bereits vor längerer Zeit eine Coverversion des Assemblage 23 Songs Document aufgenommen. Für die neue Single wurde die ursprüngliche Version nochmal überarbeitet und an den Sound von We Collide angepasst. My Hands Are Tied / Petrified bekam u.a. Airplay im Delta Radio, bei HR3, PSR und Radio Saek. Bei Radio Schleswig-Holstein (RSH) schaffte es die Single sogar in die Power-Rotation. In den Media Control Charts landete sie auf Platz 95 und in den Deutschen Alternative Charts (DAC) gelang sogar ein Sprung auf Platz 2.

Im September folgte dann ein Schock für die mesh Fans: Neil Taylor verkündete nach 15 Jahren seinen Ausstieg aus der Band! Der Auftritt beim M’Era Luna sollte sein letzter gewesen sein und er wollte seiner Familie wieder mehr Platz einräumen. Aber auch Mark und Rich waren geschockt, schließlich hatte man bereits erste Demosongs für ein neues Album geschrieben und eine weitere kleine Tour für den kommenden Winter bestätigt.

In Geoff Pinckney (The Nine / Alien6) fanden mesh schließlich einen neuen Live-Keyboarder. Nach zwei Shows in Russland, u.a. auf dem Synthetic Snow Festival in Moskau, kehrte man im Dezember für fünf weitere Konzerte nach Deutschland zurück.

zurück zur Übersicht