2002 - 2003: Who Watches Over Me?

In preparation of Who Watches Over Me? the band felt so much excitement, tension and positive response to the first promos, unlike anything they had previously seen. The excitement included Album of the Month, multi-page reports in popular music magazines (Zillo, Sonic Seducer, Orkus), entry into the DAC charts with Leave You Nothing and Who Watches Over Me?, as well as video rotation on Viva Plus and Onyx. And the album was not even released yet!

On 8. April it was finally in the stores, and one week later the first single Leave You Nothing was also available. The clip to Leave You Nothing was filmed in March under the direction of David Incorvaia in Berlin, and in Spain, it even made it into the video rotation of the national television station Los 40 Principales. The artwork, i.e. the photos in the cover of the new album and some on the official English and German website were once again exclusively taken by Neil.

With Who Watches Over Me? mesh succeeded in entering the German Media Control Charts for the very first time. The album rose to a respectable number 63. In Greece, it even reached the Top 20. With the first appearance of the year in London on 21 April 2002 mesh returned to the stage. It was the longest tour so far and the three Brits not only travelled across Germany but also to Switzerland and Belgium for one concert. More festivals followed in Canada, Greece and the UK. Their appearance in the Shockwave Festival in Athens with The Cure and the Dandy Warhols in front of an audience of more than 13,000 people was the largest event to date in the band's history. In the winter, another small tour followed through Europe.

Friends Like These was chosen as the second single in February 2003. The remixes were partially made by such well-known artists as Schiller, Kosheen and Tom Wax. As a B-side, the band had planned Can You Mend Hearts?, but the record company thought this track was too strong and suggested to keep it for the next album. Immediately mesh wrote a brand new song for which they used mesh atypical sounds. The result, From This Height, quickly became an unexpected club-hit and a live favourite. Friends Like These debuted at number 86 on the Media Control Charts and also stayed several weeks at number 1 on the German Alternative Charts and the MDR-Jump listener charts.

After two very successful remixes for the Spanish synthpop band OBK, mesh were invited as support for their shows in Madrid and Barcelona in May.

A few festivals followed with mesh as headliners: At an indoor festival in perhaps Europe's most beautiful club, the Paradiso in Amsterdam, and performances on the main stage at the WGT in Leipzig and at the legendary Arvika Festival in Sweden in front of 11,000 visitors.

In parallel, the songwriting for a new album started, and already in August the fans were presented a first appetiser: Step By Step became the new track on the setlist.

back to overview

2002 - 2003: Who Watches Over Me?

Im Vorfeld zu Who Watches Over Me? verspürte die Band so viel Aufregung, Spannung und positive Resonanz auf die ersten Promos, wie sie es in all den Jahren zuvor nicht erlebt hatte. Album des Monats, mehrseitige Berichte in bekannten Musikmagazinen (Zillo, Sonic Seducer, Orkus), Einstieg in die DAC-Charts mit Leave You Nothing und Who Watches Over Me?, sowie Video-Rotation auf VivaPlus und Onyx. Dabei war das Album zu diesem Zeitpunkt noch nicht einmal veröffentlicht!

Am 08. April stand das Album dann in den Läden, und eine Woche später war die erste Single-Auskopplung Leave You Nothing erhältlich gewesen. Der Clip zu Leave You Nothing wurde im März unter der Regie von David Incorvaia in Berlin gedreht und schaffte es sogar in Spanien in die Video-Rotation des landesweiten Senders Los 40 Principales. Das Artwork, d.h. die Fotografien im Cover des neuen Albums und einige auf der offiziellen englischen bzw. deutschen Website stammten wieder einmal ausschließlich von Neil.

Mit Who Watches Over Me? gelang mesh erstmalig der Einstieg in die Media Control Charts. Das Album landete auf einem beachtlichen 63. Platz. In Griechenland erreichte es sogar die Top 20. Mit dem ersten Auftritt des Jahres in London am 21. April 2002 meldeten sich mesh auch live zurück. Die bisher längste Tour führte die drei Briten nicht nur durch Deutschland, sie gaben auch jeweils ein Konzert in der Schweiz und in Belgien. Es folgten Festivals in Kanada, Griechenland und Großbritannien. Dabei war der Auftritt auf dem Shockwave Festival in Athen mit The Cure und den Dandy Warhols vor mehr als 13.000 Zuschauern das bis dato größte Event der Bandgeschichte. Im Winter folgte eine weitere kleine Tour durch Europa.

Als zweite Single wurde im Februar 2003 Friends Like These ausgekoppelt. Die Remixe wurden teilweise von solch namhaften Künstlern wie Schiller, Kosheen und Tom Wax angefertigt. Für die B-Seite hatte die Band den Song Can You Mend Hearts? geplant, aber die Plattenfirma fand diesen Titel zu stark und schlug vor, ihn für das nächste Album aufzuheben. mesh schrieben daraufhin in Windeseile einen komplett neuen Song, für den sie mesh untypische Sounds benutzten. Das Ergebnis hört auf den Namen From This Height, wurde völlig unerwartet zu einem Clubhit und entwickelte sich schnell zu einem Live-Favoriten. Friends Like These stieg auf Platz 86 der Media Control Charts ein und belegte außerdem mehrere Wochen Platz 1 in den Deutschen Alternative Charts und den MDR-Jump-Hörercharts.

Nach zwei sehr erfolgreichen Remixen für die spanische Synthpop-Band OBK wurden mesh im Mai als Support für deren Shows in Madrid und Barcelona eingeladen.

Auf den kommenden Festivals folgten mehrere Headliner-Positionen: Auf einem Indoor-Festival in Europas vielleicht schönstem Club, dem Amsterdamer Paradiso, jeweils auf der Hauptbühne beim WGT in Leipzig und auf dem legendären Arvika Festival in Schweden vor 11.000 Besuchern.

Parallel dazu begann das Songwriting für ein neues Album, und bereits im August wurde den Fans ein erster Appetizer präsentiert: Step By Step hieß der neue Song in der Setlist.

zurück zur Übersicht