2000 - 2001: Change of the label

Because of the great demand by the fans for songs previously unreleased, mesh decided to remix these older tracks and released them in April 2000 on the album entitled Original 91-93.

At the same time, the Live Singles EP appeared at the record shops due to the great demand by the fans for live recordings. It reached number one in the German Alternative Charts in June 2000 and stayed in the Top 10 for several weeks. The expectations of the band and fans were therefore more than adequately met.

In May 2000, the concert that was recorded at the Markthalle in Hamburg in September 1999 was released as video and CD in a collector’s box. In addition to these live recordings, two video clips, Trust You and Not Prepared (along with Making Of) were also included on the video. As of October 2000 the concert recording was also only available on CD.

In spring/summer 2000, mesh were guests at a couple of festivals. In Goeteborg (SAMA-Festival), Great Britain (Whitby-Festival) and in Arvika (Avika-Festival), Mark, Rich and Neil played in front of thousands of fans.

In autumn, mesh changed their management and signed to Orbit Records. Thanks to this contract at a major label, they could give up their jobs and concentrate on their music wholeheartedly. In collaboration with Mark’Oh, they released the single Waves, a cover version of Blancmanges hit from the 80s, shortly thereafter. Unfortunately, this experiment wasn’t very commercially successful, although they entered the charts (83) for the very first time and a video was produced again.

After that things quieted down for the band because they were already working at full steam on new material for the next album.

The first US concerts in Chicago, New York and Orlando as well as performances in Hamburg, Krefeld, London and Zurich were official highlights for the band in the year 2001. mesh spent endless hours in the studio (Urban Studios, Channel House in Bristol) until the new album Who Watches Over Me? was finally completed at the end of September. In October, they spent three weeks in Hamburg to re-record and remix the new album in collaboration with the producer Peter "BlackPete" Schmidt (Depeche Mode) at the Home-Studios. Subsequently, they spent three more days at the Galaxy Studios in Belgium for the mastering of the new album by Ronald Prent (Rammstein).

back to overview

2000 - 2001: Labelwechsel

Aufgrund der großen Nachfrage der Fans nach bisher unveröffentlichten Songs aus den Anfangstagen der Band, entschlossen sich mesh dazu, diese alten Songs neu abzumischen und im April 2000 unter dem Titel Original 91-93 zu veröffentlichen.

Zur gleichen Zeit kam die Live Singles EP aufgrund der großen Nachfrage der Fans nach Liveaufnahmen in die Plattenläden. Mit Platz 1 in den DAC Charts im Juni 2000 und einigen Wochen Top 10, waren die Erwartungen von Band und Fans mehr als erfüllt.

Im Mai 2000 wurde nun das in der Hamburger Markthalle im September 1999 mitgeschnittene Konzert als Video und CD in einer Box veröffentlicht. Zusätzlich zu den Live-Aufnahmen befinden sich zwei Video-Clips, Trust You und Not Prepared (inklusive Making Of), auf dem Video. Ab Oktober 2000 war der Konzertmitschnitt auch einzeln auf CD erhältlich.

Im Frühjahr/Sommer 2000 waren mesh auf einigen Festivals zu Gast. In Göteborg (SAMA-Festival), Großbritannien (Whitby-Festival) und in Arvika (Arvika-Festival) spielten Mark, Rich und Neil vor tausenden Fans.

Im Herbst wechselten mesh das Management sowie das Label (Orbit Records). Durch diesen Vertrag bei einem Major-Label, konnten sie ihre Jobs aufgeben und sich voll und ganz der Musik widmen. Zusammen mit Mark'Oh veröffentlichten sie kurze Zeit später die Single Waves, eine Cover-Version des Blancmange-Hits aus den 80ern. Leider war dieses Experiment kommerziell nicht so erfolgreich, obwohl die erste Chart-Platzierung (83) erreicht und erneut ein Video gedreht wurde.

Anschließend wurde es ruhig um die Band, denn sie arbeiteten bereits mit Hochdruck an neuem Material für das nächste Album.

Die ersten US-Konzerte in Chicago, New York und Orlando, sowie Auftritte in Hamburg, Krefeld, London und Zürich waren die öffentlichen Höhepunkte der Band im Jahr 2001. mesh verbrachten unzählige Stunden im Studio (Urban Studios, Channel House in Bristol), bis Ende September das neue Album Who Watches Over Me? schließlich soweit fertiggestellt war. Im Oktober ging es dann noch für drei Wochen nach Hamburg, um in den Home-Studios zuammen mit dem Produzenten Peter "BlackPete" Schmidt (Depeche Mode) das Album neu aufzunehmen und abzumischen. Im Anschluss ging es dann noch für drei Tage in die Galaxy Studios in Belgien zum Mastering des neuen Albums durch Ronald Prent (Rammstein).

zurück zur Übersicht