1999: The Point At Which It Falls Apart

After a short break from touring but hard work in the studio, the album The Point At Which It Falls Apart and the advance single People Like Me (With This Gun) were released in February 1999. With this album, the boys from Bristol departed from the hard side of the electro pop and continued the melodic and harmonic structure they begun with Fragmente. The lyrics clearly showed one of the most important sides of mesh: the well-thought out, self-critical and questioning demeanour.

The album was in the Top Ten of the German Alternative Charts for several weeks. The single People Like Me (With This Gun) even climbed to number 3.

Due to their increasing popularity, it was quite easy for the Meshies to organize their first complete tour in April. Along with Melotron as support, fans could see them live in ten discotheques and venues across Germany. It seemed that mesh finally hit the big time.

The second single It Scares Me came out right after the tour, in May 1999. On the one hand, mesh were now being played more often in the discotheques and on the other hand, a semi-professional video clip of It Scares Me was shown on free German television.

mesh had their first festival performance at the Zillo-Festival in 1999. The band was praised frenetically by 7,000 enthusiastic fans in a location that was obviously too small given their new popularity. It was also the first time, they played the song Safe With Me live and it had everybody singing along. mesh played a further concert at a Depeche Mode party in Hamburg. It was recorded and then released as live VHS and CD in May 2000 known as On This Tour Forever.

The third single release from The Point At Which It Falls Apart in October 1999 was Not Prepared. It was the first time mesh shot a proper video clip that was shown on various German music channels like Viva, Viva2 and MTV. But for many the highlight of that year was definitely the appearance of the band on the show Chart Attack on ZDF in November 1999.

During their first small tour across Europe from October until December 1999, mesh rocked the venues in France, Switzerland, Belgium and Germany. As the main act for the Synthie-Pop-Festival in Krefeld, mesh played in front of 800 fans in the Kulturfabrik which was completely sold out. The most successful year to date since the creation of the band was brought to a close with a sold out show in London and a performance at the Heavens-Gate-Festival in Strasbourg, France.

back to overview

1999: The Point At Which It Falls Apart

Nach kurzer Funkstille, jedoch harter Studioarbeit, erschien im Februar 1999 das Album The Point At Which It Falls Apart mit der Vorab-Single People Like Me (With This Gun) im Januar 1999. Die Jungs aus Bristol entfernten sich mit diesem Album von der härteren Seite des Electropop und setzten die von Fragmente eingeleiteten melodischen bzw. harmonischen Strukturen fort. Die Texte zeigen deutlich eine der wichtigsten Seiten von mesh auf: die durchdachte, selbstkritische und an bestimmten Verhaltensweisen zweifelnde.

Das Album hielt sich in den folgenden Wochen in den Top Ten der Deutschen Alternative Charts, die Singe People Like Me (With This Gun) stieg sogar bis auf Platz 3.

Durch die steigende Beliebtheit fiel es den Meshies nicht schwer, im April des Jahres die erste komplette Tournee in Eigenregie zu veranstalten. Zusammen mit Melotron als Support konnte man sie in zehn Clubs/Hallen Deutschland's live erleben. Der Durchbruch war nun endgültig geschafft.

Die zweite Single It Scares Me wurde nach der Tour, im Mai 1999, ausgekoppelt. Zum einen wurden mesh nun immer häufiger in den Discotheken gespielt, zum anderen lief ein semi-professioneller Videoclip zu It Scares Me in den Offenen Kanälen Deutschlands.

Ihren ersten Festival-Auftritt hatten mesh auf dem Zillo-Festival 1999. Die Band wurde von 7000 begeisterten Fans in der sichtlich zu klein gewordenen Location frenetisch gefeiert. Hier spielten sie auch zum ersten Mal den Song Safe With Me live, und der wurde von den Fans begeistert mitgesungen. Im Rahmen der Depeche Mode Party in Hamburg gaben mesh ein weiteres Konzert. Dieses wurde aufgezeichnet und im Mai 2000 als Live-Video und CD unter dem Namen On This Tour Forever veröffentlicht.

Die dritte Single-Auskopplung aus The Point At Which It Falls Apart wurde im Oktober 1999 Not Prepared. Zu dieser Single wurde erstmals ein richtiger Videoclip gedreht, der diverse Male von den deutschen Musiksendern Viva, Viva2 und MTV gespielt wurde. Für viele der Höhepunkt des Jahres, war der Auftritt der Band in der ZDF-Fernsehsendung Chart-Attack im November 1999.

Während ihrer ersten kleinen Europa-Tournee von Oktober bis Dezember 1999 rockten mesh in Frankreich, der Schweiz, Belgien und Deutschland die Konzerthallen. Als Headliner des Synthie-Pop-Festivals in Krefeld spielten mesh vor 800 Fans in der ausverkauften Kulturfabrik. Das bis dato erfolgreichste Jahr seit Bestehen der Band beendeten mesh mit einer ausverkauften Show in London und einem Auftritt beim Heavens-Gate-Festival in Strasbourg, Frankreich.

zurück zur Übersicht