1996 - 1998: In This Place Forever

In This Place Forever, the first full-length album, was eventually released in June 1996 by Synthetic Product Records, 17 months after they had started working on it. The waiting was worth while, however: what follows is an excerpt of a CD review by Eclipse: "They have got great melodies, sing along choruses and a very distinctive singer with recognition value. The three Britons own what many other lack: originality and their own style."

meshís first single being released was You Didnít Want Me from In This Place Forever, a club-hit that still fills the dance floors in discotheques.

mesh embarked on a number of concerts throughout Europe. Their first German concert was in the Vier Linden in Hildesheim on 10th January 1997. After this, mesh returned to Germany for two tours. The first one was with Beborn Beton in October 1997 as part of the Electrofusion-tour. Among the enthusiastic audience were the members of De/Vision amongst others. Without hesitation, mesh were hired as support for a tour in May 1998.

At the same time, in April 1998, the Best Of-album Fragmente and the second single Trust You, which became another club-hit, were released. The beat of this song, a catchy melody and the charismatic voice of Mark Hockings, became the trademark of the band. For all those who hadnít known mesh before, Fragmente offered a compilation of the highlights showcasing the varied musical production of Neil Taylor, Richard Silverthorn and Mark Hockings. The band presented their "pop side" without exception. It not only contained massive up-tempo pieces, but also slower tracks like e.g. So Important or electronic/melodic songs featuring complex rhythm changes like Someone To Believe In.

back to overview

1996 - 1998: In This Place Forever

In This Place Forever, das erste full length Album, wurde letztendlich im Juni 1996 von Synthetic Product Records veröffentlicht, 17 Monate nachdem sie begonnen hatten daran zu arbeiten. Doch das Warten hatte sich gelohnt: Aus einem CD-Review von Eclipse: "Sie haben tolle Melodien, Mitsing-Refrains und einen sehr markanten Sänger mit Wiedererkennungswert. Die drei Briten besitzen, was vielen anderen fehlt: Originalität und ein eigener Stil"

Aus In This Place Forever wurde auch mesh's erste Single You Didn't Want Me ausgekoppelt. Bis heute füllt dieser Club-Hit die Tanzflächen der Discotheken.

mesh begannen eine Reihe von Konzerten in ganz Europa zu geben. Das erste Deutschland-Konzert war am 10.01.1997 in Hildesheim im Vier Linden. Anschließend beehrten uns mesh in Deutschland mit zwei Tourneen. Zum einen die Electrofusion-Tour im Oktober 1997 mit Beborn Beton. Unter den begeisterten Zuschauern befanden sich u.a. die Musiker von De/Vision. Kurzerhand wurde mesh als Support für eine Tour im Mai 1998 angeworben.

Zur gleichen Zeit, im April 1998 wurden das Best Of-Album Fragmente und die zweite Single Trust You veröffentlicht, welche sich ebenfalls in den Clubs etablierte. Der Beat dieses Songs, eine eingängige Melodie und der charismatische Gesang von Mark Hockings, wurde zum Markenzeichen der Band. Für all jene, die mesh bis dato nicht kannten, bot Fragmente eine Zusammenstellung aus den absoluten Highlights des bisherigen Schaffens von Neil Taylor, Richard Silverthorn und Mark Hockings. Die Band präsentierte sich hier ausnahmslos von der poppigen Seite. Neben gewaltigen Up-Tempo-Stücken sind auch langsamere Stücke wie z.B. So Important zu finden, oder elektronisch/melodische Songs mit Rhythmuswechseln wie Someone To Believe In.

zurück zur Übersicht