1994 - 1996: From Tolerance Records to Memento Materia

Tolerance Records was founded and the band began to write new songs and to record the sound for their first Mini-CD. To start their own record label involved more work than they had imagined. Neil started to design the complete artwork and merchandising material for the band and label. With persistence and insistence, they eventually finished their project. In August 1994, their first CD Fragile was released. A number of live performances followed, starting in the Bristol Watershed. This venue was considerably larger than the Mauretania which the band had outgrown (many disappointed fans only could view the shows from outside the club). The successful concerts were another confirmation that their music was appreciated by the audience. Further performances in London followed. The CD Fragile was distributed by mesh, family members and other volunteers in Bristol, London and Reading directly to the record shops. They reached their highest turnover, however, through mail-order or by sales at concerts. The album sold so well that mesh almost started to produce a new album on the spot. In the meantime, the demand was so considerable that in November 1994 they founded the Mesh Information Service that supplied the fans with newsletters, information and merchandising from that point of time.

It was obvious for mesh that there was a market for them in Great Britain and an even bigger one in the rest of Europe. The band was finally appearing in a lot of European scene magazines. To tour on the continent was another chance to increase their popularity. Therefore, they now sent demo tapes of their CD Fragile to concert promoters and labels in Europe. One of those demo tapes ended up in the hands of Memento Materia, a Swedish label specializing in electronic music. The label was quite impressed by the demo and asked them without further ado to send the complete album. The upshot of all this was a signed record contract at Memento Materia in autumn 1995 when the second album was almost completed. Fragile was, at that time, almost sold out at Tolerance Records. Therefore, Memento Materia re-issued it including a booklet of eight pages with the complete lyrics which was not included in the original version of Tolerance Records.

mesh also contributed to some compilations, e.g. Monument (Hurt), Electromagnetic (Last Breath Of You, I Don't Expect To Be Right), Electronic Fields (I Don't Think They Know), Strangelove, Strangelove 2, Zillo Club Hits, etc.

back to overview

1994 - 1996: Von Tolerance Records zu Memento Materia

Tolerance Records wurde gegründet, und die Band begann neue Songs zu schreiben sowie den Sound für ihre erste Mini-CD aufzunehmen. Ihre eigene Plattenfirma zu gründen brachte mehr Arbeit mit sich, als sie sich vorgestellt hatten. Neil begann, das gesamte Artwork und Merchandisingmaterial für Band und Label zu entwerfen. Mit Ausdauer und Beharrlichkeit brachten sie ihr Projekt zu Ende. Im August 1994 wurde dann die erste CD Fragile veröffentlicht. Eine Reihe von Liveauftritten folgte, mit Start im Bristol Watershed. Dieser Veranstaltungsort war wesentlich größer als das Mauretania, aus dem die Band herausgewachsen war (viele enttäuschte Fans durften den Konzerten nur von der Straße aus beiwohnen). Die erfolgreichen Konzerte waren eine weitere Bestätigung, dass ihre Musik beim Publikum gut ankommt. Weitere Auftritte in London folgten. Die CD Fragile wurde von mesh, Familienmitgliedern und anderen Freiwilligen in Bristol, London und Reading noch selbst an die Plattenläden vertrieben. Die größten Umsätze machten sie jedoch durch Mailorder oder durch Verkäufe bei Konzerten. Das Album verkaufte sich so gut, dass mesh sich beinahe auf der Stelle daran machten, ein neues Album zu produzieren. Die Nachfrage war mittlerweile so groß, dass sie im November 1994 den Mesh Information Service gründeten, der ab diesem Zeitpunkt die Fans mit Newslettern, Informationen und Merchandisingartikeln versorgte.

Für mesh war es offensichtlich, dass es für sie einen Markt in Großbritannien gab und einen noch größeren im restlichen Europa. Die Band wurde schließlich in vielen europäischen Szene-Magazinen vorgestellt. Auf dem Kontinent zu touren war eine weitere Möglichkeit, ihre Popularität zu vergrößern, deshalb verschickten sie nun Demotapes ihrer CD Fragile an Konzertveranstalter und Label auf dem Kontinent. Eines der Tapes landete in den Händen von Memento Materia, einem schwedischen Label, das sich auf elektronische Musik spezialisiert hatte. Sie waren sehr beeindruckt von dem Demotape und ließen sich kurzerhand das komplette Album schicken. Das Ende vom Lied war ein unterschriebener Plattenvertrag bei Memento Materia im Herbst 1995, als das zweite Album beinahe fertig war. Fragile war zu der Zeit bei Tolerance Records fast ausverkauft und deshalb brachte Memento Materia eine Neuauflage von Fragile heraus, inklusive einem achtseitigen Booklet mit allen Liedtexten, welches in der original Version von Tolerance Records nicht mitgeliefert wurde.

mesh haben außerdem einen Beitrag zu einigen Samplern geleistet, z.B. Monument (Hurt), Electromagnetic (Last Breath Of You, I Don't Expect To Be Right), Electronic Fields (I Don't Think They Know), Strangelove, Strangelove 2, Zillo Club Hits, uvm.

zurück zur Übersicht